



TRANSMITTAL

June 26, 2014

The Honorable Mayor Claudia Balducci Members of the Bellevue City Council 450 110th Avenue NE Bellevue, WA 98004

RE: Transportation Commission Recommendation – Bellevue Transit Master Plan

Dear Mayor Balducci and City Councilmembers:

It is with great pleasure that the Transportation Commission presents to the City Council the draft Bellevue Transit Master Plan (TMP). Guided by Council's principles at the project outset and informed by public input, technical studies, and market analyses, the draft TMP represents the culmination of a planning effort initiated in July 2012. This document includes recommendations for improvements in public transit service to and within the City of Bellevue paired with capital improvements that support the recommended Frequent Transit Network.

Transportation Commission members are honored by your trust and confidence in selecting us to oversee the Bellevue Transit Master Plan (TMP). We also appreciate the opportunity to have worked with our colleagues on the other Boards and Commissions on this project. Finally, we want to thank Councilmember Conrad Lee for serving in the role of Council liaison to our Commission and for his active participation at TMP workshops.

At its June 26, 2014 meeting, the Transportation Commission hosted a public hearing on the draft Bellevue Transit Master Plan (TMP). After which, the Commission voted unanimously in favor of recommending that the City Council adopt the TMP at its July 7, 2014 meeting. We hereby formally request that you adopt the TMP report and direct staff to transmit a copy of the Executive Summary to the County Executive, County Council, and Sound Transit Board of Directors informing them of Bellevue's transit priorities. We applaud the City Council's leadership and commitment to increasing transit service and capital investments essential to growing a strong economy for Bellevue's future.

Sincerely,

Ernie Simas Chair Scott Lampe Vice-Chair

Victor Bishop Commissioner Francois Larrivee Commissioner

Tom Tanaka Commissioner Janice Zahn Commissioner Dave Jokinen Commissioner